Welcome to the ERA Club

The first ERA, R1, is wheeled out at Eastgate House, Bourne, Lincolnshire, in May 1934.
Peter Berthon is to the right of R1’s cockpit, with John Lea to the left, and Lawrence behind.

ERAs raced competitively at the highest levels of motor racing from 1934 until 1952.
The ERA marque is almost unique, as a major racing marque, in that, for each one of the twenty cars which were built by the company in period (1934 to 1952), the complete ownership history is known at every point in each car’s life.

The ERA Club was formed in 1936 by a group of enthusiasts who wished to support English Racing Automobiles Ltd (ERA). Until World War II the Club was very active and most of the contemporary ERA owners and drivers were Club members. After World War II the Club was not active again until the mid-1950s. By that time a new generation of ERA drivers was establishing the cars as the leading marque in historic motor racing. Since then the Club has had a more or less continuous existence.

The ERA Club now exists as a forum for owners, drivers and anybody who is interested in, and enthusiastic about, ERAs.
Almost all of the current ERA owners are Club members.

The Club's annual membership subscription for 2024 is £26 for UK members and £36 for Overseas members.

Club Members may pay the Club's annual subscription by the following methods :-

- Making a Bank Transfer or Direct Deposit to the Club's bank account :-
Sort Code 20-48-08
Account No. 00537268
Account Name “The ERA Car Club”
If you are making a payment by this method please also send an email to info@eraclub.co.uk notifying us that you have made such a payment, and giving details of your postal address.

IBAN No. GB70 BARC 2048 0800 5372 68 - SWIFT BIC – BARCGB22

- Making a PayPal payment to the Club's PayPal account info@eraclub.co.uk

- Sending a cheque (UK only) - Please email info@eraclub.co.uk for further details.

Overseas members are requested to pay their subscription by PayPal or by Bank Transfer.

The Club's journal, 'Hearsay' is produced annually for Club Members.
Each edition consists of approximately 100 colour pages in perfect bound, A4, landscape format.

The 2023 edition of ‘Hearsay’ was published in November 2023.
Back copies of this and the two previous editions (2018 and 2017) are still available.
Please email info@eraclub.co.uk for further details.

The Club's Annual Lunch is held each November, when the Lunch is addressed by a Guest Speaker, and the Club's trophies are presented.

The 2023 Annual Lunch was held on Sunday 5th November 2023 at the British Motor Museum, Gaydon, when the Guest Speaker was David Morris.

The Club’s trophies are competed for throughout each season at races, hillclimbs and sprints :-

The Rivers Fletcher Trophy
Best Performance in a 2 litre ERA
2023 Winner - Ben Fidler

The Bob Gerard Trophy
Best Performance in a 1 1/2 litre ERA
2023 Winner - Brad Baker

The Anthony Mayman Trophy
Best Performance in an ERA in Hillclimbs and Sprints
2023 Winner - Ben Fidler

The Gordon Chapman Trophy
Fastest Time in an ERA on the Prescott Short Course
2023 Winner - Nick Topliss

The Overseas Trophy
Best Performance in an ERA outside the UK
2023 Winner - Paddins Dowling

The Rubery Owen Trophy
Best Performance in an ERA-engined car, other than an ERA
2023 Winner - James Baxter

The Francis Howe Trophy
A Significant Contribution over the years to the advancement and/or preservation of the ERA Marque
2023 Winner - David Morris