Welcome to the ERA Club

The first ERA, R1, is wheeled out at Eastgate House, Raymond Mays’ home, at Bourne, Lincolnshire, in May 1934. Peter Berthon can be seen to the right of R1’s cockpit, with John Lea to the left, and Lawrence behind.

ERAs raced competitively at the highest levels of motor racing from 1934 until 1952. The ERA marque is almost unique, as a major racing marque, in that, for the twenty cars which were built by the company in period (1934 to 1952), the complete ownership history is known at every point in each car’s life.

The ERA Club was formed in 1936 by a group of enthusiasts who wished to support English Racing Automobiles Ltd (ERA). Until World War II the Club was very active and most of the contemporary ERA owners and drivers were Club members.
After World War II the Club was not active again until the mid-1950s. At that time a new generation of ERA drivers was establishing the cars as the leading marque in historic motor racing. Since then the Club has had a more or less continuous existence.

The Club now exists as a forum for owners, drivers and anybody who is interested in, and enthusiastic about, ERAs. Almost all of the current ERA owners are Club members.

The Club's annual membership subscription for 2022 is £20 for UK members and £35 for Overseas members.
For methods of payment for subscriptions please see below.

The ERA Club journal, 'Hearsay' is produced for Club Members.
Each edition consists of approximately 90 colour pages in perfect bound, A4, landscape format.

The Club's Annual Dinner is held each November, when the Dinner is addressed by a Guest Speaker, and the Club's Trophies are presented.

The 2019 ERA Club Annual Dinner was held on Saturday 16th November, at Chateau Impney Hotel, Droitwich Spa, Worcestershire.
The guest speaker was Simon Taylor, author of the recent authoritative book on HWM.

The Annual Dinner was not held in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID restrictions.

The trophies are competed for throughout each season at races, hill climbs and sprints :-

Rivers Fletcher Trophy
Best Performance in a 2 litre ERA
2019 Winner - Nick Topliss

Bob Gerard Trophy
Best Performance in a 1 1/2 litre ERA
2019 Winner - Ben Fidler

Anthony Mayman Trophy
Best Performance in an ERA in Hill Climbs and Sprints
2019 Winner - Nick Topliss

Gordon Chapman Trophy
Fastest Time in an ERA on the Prescott Short Course
2019 Winner - Nick Topliss

Overseas Trophy
Best Performance in an ERA outside the UK
2019 Winner - Paddins Dowling

Rubery Owen Trophy
Best Performance in an ERA-engined car, other than an ERA
2019 Winner - James Baxter

Francis Howe Trophy
A Significant Contribution over the years to the advancement and/or preservation of the ERA Marque
2019 Winner - Alan Cox

Club Members may pay the Club's annual subscription (£20 UK or £35 Overseas) by the following methods :-

- Making a PayPal payment to the Club's PayPal account eraclub@ntlworld.com

- Sending a cheque (UK only), made payable to "ERA Club", to :-
ERA Club
86 Honeywall

- Making a Bank Transfer or Direct Deposit into the Club's bank account :-
Account Name “ERA Club”
Sort Code 20-48-08
Account No. 00537268
IBAN No. GB70 BARC 2048 0800 5372 68

Note - Overseas members are requested to pay their subscription either by PayPal or by Bank Transfer